Collaborate on pages

Collaborate on pages

Almost a year ago, we launched a beta version of start.me for Organizations. Since its introduction, more than 1,000 organizations have signed up. Generally, we get favorable feedback. But one thing users really missed: to be able to collaborate on pages! Today we introduce a cool new feature that allows team members to work on a page together.

Who can edit this page?

By default, pages can only be edited by the user who created it. In an organization context, this may not always be ideal. To allow team members to edit a page, they can be assigned to it in the Share tab of the page’s settings. Pages that belong to an organization now show an extra option ‘Who can edit this page?

Assigning collaborators to a page is really simple. Just click the button and select the team members you would like to give edit rights to your page.

People you select as editors of your page can do almost the same you can. They can add widgets and bookmarks, rename and reorder stuff. But they cannot remove the page, nor can they change the sharing settings. Those privileges are reserved to a page’s owner.

Working on a page at the same time

To prevent collisions when working on the same page together with somebody else, we added a cool new collaborator indicator to pages. Whenever you are working on the same page as somebody else, you are warned about this by a small icon, indicating the number of collaborators currently working on the page. Hovering over the icon will even show you which team members are currently working on the page.

Sharing pages with only some team members

One good thing to note: whenever you choose to add one or more team members to a page, they will always be able to see your page, even if you set sharing to ‘Only me‘. This is a thing you can use to your advantage. Say you would like only you and one other team member to be able to access an organization page, perhaps because it is not quite ready or it contains sensitive information. As long as you leave the sharing setting on ‘Only me‘, nobody in your organization will be able to access your page, except for those you explicitly appoint as collaborators.

Try it!

You may already be using our organizations feature, but if not, why not give it a try? Organizations are free to use (up to 3 team members) and an upgrade to our Professional plan is easy and inexpensive.

Please let us know about your experiences with this cool new functionality. We are curious to hear about ways you intend to use it. And of course, if you find something that seems odd or broken, let us know!

Michiel de Wit

Michiel de Wit

Michiel is CGO and co-founder of start.me. He is a software professional with a lot of experience in developing enterprise grade web applications. He is a certified Scrum Master and a great proponent of modern software development practices.


(It's free and will only take a minute)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to our blog via email

If you want to stay up-to-date, enter your email address below. You will receive notifications of new posts by email.

Subscribe to our blog ➔